Random Saturday Morning Thoughts

About two years ago, one of my college professors brought up a great point that has stuck with me to this day. She mentioned how so many people are either too concerned with the past or with the future and that the present really isn’t that bad. This really had me thinking.

I realized that I spend most of my precious present time thinking about tomorrow, next week, next month, or five years from now. On the other hand, I think of what I could have done in the past that would have changed something else, and I start to get anxious or regretful. My mind is constantly either in the past or future and I finally realized that and started to consciously try my best to simply live in the present moment. While it’s normal to think about things that happened in the past, along with your future plans (and maybe how your present actions could affect your future), it’s really not healthy to spend your entire life thinking about such things. Is it really living if you’re living in the past or the future? I usually don’t post things like this, and I’m usually not a very philosophical person, but it popped into my mind when I woke up anxious thinking about a few events in the past. You can’t change the past, so why dwell on it? I just thought it was an interesting thing to share with everyone! Live in the present, people! You’ll be so much happier.

Have a lovely day.

xx Emily

Leave a Reply

